5 Finalists Selected For 2009 European Union Prize For Contemporary Architecture

The European Union Prize For Contemporary Architecture, named for a grand architect of the 20th century, Miles van de Rohe, has honed its 2009 finalist list down to five outstanding European architectural works, from 340 submbissions. The Miles van de Rohe Award is a biennial award given to works created during the prior two years. The judging committee is made up of independent architects from several European countries.

Francis Rambert, Chair of the Jury said, “We were impressed by the quality of the selected projects, many of which explore important urban issues of infrastructure and regeneration, developing new typologies. Ranging widely in scale, each responds imaginatively to its particular context and brief.”

Architecture is no longer just about building grandiose structures. The works are all very different and reveal how the architects responded to each particular environment and the cultural needs of the community.

And the finalists are:


1. The Norwegian Opera and Ballet, Oslo, Norway

Architects: Kjetil Trædal Thorsen, Tarald Lundevall, Craig Dykers/Snøhetta


Photo: Jens PassothPhoto: Jens Passoth



2. Multimodal Centre – Nice Tramway, Nice, France

Architects: Marc Barani / Atelier Marc Barani


Photo: Hardphot SchejbalPhoto: Hardphot Schejbal



3. University Luigi Bocconi, Milan, Italy

Architects: Shelley McNamara, Yvonne Farrell / Grafton Architects


Photo: Federico BrunettiPhoto: Federico Brunetti



4. Zenith Music Hall, Strasbourg, France

Architects: Massimiliano Fuksas, Doriana Fuksas / Massimiliano


Photo: Moreno MaggiPhoto: Moreno Maggi



5. Library, Senior Citizens’ Centre and City Block Core Zone, Sant Antoni’s District, Barcelona, Spain

Architects: Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem, Ramon Vilalta / RCR Aranda Pigem Vilalta Arquitectes


Photo: Hisao SuzukiPhoto: Hisao Suzuki

The winner of the 2009 European Union Miles van de Rohe Prize For Contemporary Architecture will be announced in May along with the winner of the Emerging Architect Special Mention Prize. Five finalists, including the winner of the grand prize, and the Emerging Architect winner, will conduct a lecture tour across Europe beginning in September, 2009.

Mies van der Rohe Awards