Log in   •   Sign up   •   Subscribe  feed icon

Twittorati, At The Corner of Blogo & Twitter

Do you know any bloggers of authority? Bloggers who are distinguished not only by how popular their sites are, but also how often other sites link to their blogs. Those that know TMZ, Gawker and the Huffington Post know that the top blogs of the world have slowly stolen the spotlight away from newspapers and mainstream media in general. Those that know Twitter know how important real-time updates have become. Now with the unveiling of Technorati's new service, one can traverse the terrain where the blogosphere crosses the Twittersphere, at an intersection called Twittorati.

Technorati, a well known social bookmarking service has launched the Twittorati site where one can view what the top bloggers in the world are tweeting about. With our infatuation in all-things 'celebrity', top bloggers or the micro-celebs of Internet have now become the authoritative voices for our digital mindset.

The site will demonstrate what top bloggers have to say, and compare topics to blogosphere trends. It will also allow visitors to filter tweets by topic, see the most tweeted blog posts, and compare leading blogosphere and Twitter trends.



Richard JalichandraRichard JalichandraRichard Jalichandra, chief executive of Technorati, when interviewed for a recent New York Times article titled "Blogs Falling in an Empty Forest" made point of the significant contribution blogs have made to the field of journalism. Blogs, according to Jalichandra have "become a legitimate publishing medium with a huge audience."

In fact, blogs have became so impactful that the company's recent study called 'Technorati's 2008 State of the Blogosphere' notes 76,000 blogs have a Technorati Authority Ranking (blogging's equivalent of Google Page Rank) of 50 or higher, and that roughly a half million bloggers describe themselves as professional bloggers and report income off their blogs.

InventorSpotInventorSpotTechnorati's Top 100 bloggers will be featured at Twittorati's launch, but it will expand to include more authors and blogging sites over time. We at InventorSpot, feel confident that our voice will eventually be added to the Twittorati site in due course as we are presently ranked 755 out of all the blogs tracked by Technorati.com worldwide. (At the end of this blog, I have posted the entire list of Technorati's Top 100 bloggers with links, as a service to our readers.)

According to a recent Forbes article, "surfing along on the burgeoning wave of Twitter could be a nice way for Technorati to boost its traffic, which, according to traffic tracker Alexa, has sagged 10% over the past three months." Even so, Technorati Media has been building up its ad network, launched about a year ago. "In one year, Technorati Media has become the largest ad network focused on social media," said Jalichandra  "We've aggregated over 300 sites--about half blogs, about half niche social networking sites."

While I feel that Twittorati is going to bring value to our social media table, I am hesitant to believe that blogging isn't still evolving and that similar to the artisans of the Industrial Revolution, that bloggers will soon be replaced by automation. In a recent blog I wrote titled "New Industrial Revolution Sabotages Social Media," I refer to the advent of Web 3.0 and the intervention of automation and artificial intelligence taking the place of the current required human component.

Web 3.0Web 3.0

Will Web 3.0 shorten the lifespan of Twittorati and limit our need to enter the traffic jams incurred at the corner of the Blogo and the Twitter? Time will tell... but right now I think it's a greenlight and 'full-speed ahead' as Twittorati becomes the latest shiny thing to roll off the digital assembly line.

As promised, here is Technorati's Top 100 Blogs (with links)

1- Huffington Post    http://www.huffingtonpost.com
2- TechCrunch   http://www.techcrunch.com
3- Engadget  http://www.engadget.com
4- Mashable   http://mashable.com
5- Boing Boing   http://www.boingboing.net
6- Ars Technica   http://arstechnica.com
7- Lifehacker   http://lifehacker.com
8- TMZ.com    http://www.tmz.com
9- Smashing Magazine    http://smashingmagazine.com
10- Gizmodo    http://gizmodo.com
11- The Official Google Blog     http://googleblog.blogspot.com
12- ReadWriteWeb    http://readwriteweb.com
13- Gawker    http://gawker.com
14- Seth's Blog    http://setgodin.typepad.com
15- BloggingStocks   http://www.bloggingStocks.com
16- Daily Kos   http://dailykos.com
17- Gadling   http://www.gadling.com
18- Joystiq http://joystiq.com
19- The Daily Dish/ by Andrew Sullivan   http://andrewsullivan.theatlantic.com
20- icanhascheezburger.com  http://icanhascheezburger.com
21- treehugger    http://www.treehugger.com
22- consumerist   http://consumerist.com
23- PostSecret    http://postsecret.blogspot.com
24- Cinematical   http://cinematical.com
25- Kotaku        http://kotaku.com
26- WoWInsider    http://www.wowinsider.com
27- Blog          http://whitehouse.gov/blog
28- VentureBeat   http://venturebeat.com
29- Celebrity Gossip http://perezhilton.com
30- Switched      http://www.switched.com
31- The Unoffical Apple Weblog   http://www.tuaw.com
32- Autoblog      http://www.autoblog.com
33- TV Squad      http://www.tvsquad.com
34- Think Progress http://thinkprogress.org
35- Download Squad http://www.downloadsquad.com
36- ParentDish    http://www.parentdish.com
37- CrunchGear    http://www.crunchgear.com
38- GIGAZINE      http://gigazine.net
39- Bits          http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com
40- ProBlogger Blog Tips   http://www.problogger.net
41- Fail Blog     http://failblog.org
42- The Caucus    http://thecaucus.blogs.nytimes.com
43- CNN Political Ticker http://politicalticker.blogs.cnn.com
44- The Pioneer Woman Ree Drummond   http://thepioneerwoman.com
45- dooce         http://dooce.com
46- Michelle Malkin http://michellemalkin.com
47- Lemondrop   http://lemondrop.com
48- The Corner  http://corner.nationalreview.com
49- Pajamas Media http://pajamasmedia.com
50- Talking Points Memo   http://www.talkingpointsmemo.com
51- Slashfood    http://www.slashfood.com
52- Hot Air-Top Picks  http://hotair.com
53- SeekingAlpha.com   http://seekingalpha.com
54- Apartment Therapy Main http://apartmenttherapy.com
55- Neatorama   http://neatorama.com
56- Gmail Blog  http://gmailblog.blogspot.com
57- Political Punch http://blogs.abcnews.com/politicalpunch
58- /Flim       http://slashfilm.com
59- GigaOM      http://gigaom.com
60- Luxist      http://www.luxist.com
61- Salon: Glenn Greenwald   http://www.salon.com/opinion/greenwald
62- The Sartorialist   http://thesartorialist.blogspot.com
63- kottke.org   http://kottke.org
64- StyleList Fashion Blog  http://www.stylelist.com/blog
65- Yanko Design   http://www.stylelist.com/blog
66- NewsBusters.org  http://newsbusters.org
67- Zen Habits   http://zenhabits.com
68- Crooks and Liars http://crooksandliars.com
69- FiveThirtyEight: Politics Done Right   http://www.fivethirtyeight.com
70- TorrentFreak    http://torrentfreak.com
71- ChrisBrogan     http://www.chrisbrogan.com
72- Ben Smith's Blog http://www.politico.com/blogs/bensmith
73- Massively     http://www.massively.com
74- Engagdet Mobile http://engadgetmobile.com
75- Search Engine Land  http://searchengineland.com
76- Microsiervos   http://www.microsiervos.com
77- Entertainment Weekly's PopWatch  http://popwatch.ew.com/popwatch
78- VG Cats Updated Mondays   http://vgcats.com
79- MacRumors: Mac News and Rumors   http://www.macrumors.com
80- MakeMagazine    http://blog.makezine.com
81- Stereogum    http://stereogum.com
82- Jalopnik     http://jalopnik.com
83- Fussy/NaBloPoMo  http://www.fussy.org/nablopomo.html
84- Spinner     http://www.spinner.com
85- O'Reilly Radar Insight   http://radar.oreilly.com
86- Deadspin    http://deadspin.com
87- Gothamist   http://gothamist.com
88- Just Jared  http://justjared.buzznet.com
89- Geekologie Gadgets, Gizmos and Awesome   http://geekologie.com
90- Celebrity Baby Blog   http://celebrity-babies.com
91- Freakonomics   http://freakonomics.blogs.nytimes.com
92- A List Apart   http://www.alistapart.com
93- Google Operating System  http://googlesystem.blogspot.com
94- Blog di Beppe Grillo   http://beppegrillo.it
95- CopyBlogger   http://copyblogger.com
96- explodingdog    http://explodingdog.com
97- Techdirt        http://techdirt.com
98- Daring Fireball http://daringfireball.net
99- Boy Genius Report http://boygeniusreport.com
100- CurrentTV    http://www.current.tv

Please sign up to get my latest updates here.

Ron Callari
Social Media Trends
InventorSpot.com
Follow me on Twitter

Comments
Jul 9, 2009
by Anonymous

Really?

How many of those top 100 are actually using Twitter? Very few!

And of the ones who are using Twitter, MOST of them are doing nothing but reposting links to their own blog posts. That seems kinda redundant to me.

If you check out the "top bloggers," you'll see very few of them are actually engaging their followers. They never respond to Tweeters and they're only following top news sites - and nobody else. Those "top bloggers" are using Twitter to push their blog posts out to people who may or may not even know they exist.

The current Twittorati setup screams #FAIL.